Your IP address is


The NomCom comprises four members who are appointed by the AFRINIC Board.

The four (4) members of the NomCom are composed as follows:

  • 1 Member selected from within the Board (Should not be from the region for which an election is being held).
  • 3 volunteers selected from the community

The main responsibility of the NomCom is to screen and propose suitable candidates for all elections with AFRINIC.


These include Board, NRO NC, PDWG, Governance Committee or any other future elections within AFRINIC. 

NomCom members serve on a voluntary basis, supported and guided by the CEO along with a staff member appointed by the CEO. 

The committee essentially works via e-mail (using a designated mailing list) and teleconferences.


The NomCom Chairperson work with the Election Committee as per Section 10 of AFRINIC bylaws.

The NomCom’s responsibilities are defined in Section 9 of the AFRINIC Bylaws.



Appointment of NomCom

Once the date of the first Public Policy Meeting of the year has been determined, the process to appoint the NomCom is initiated using the following timeline:

Days to Board Election Date Actions
111 19-Jan-2018 Publication and Announcement of the Call for Volunteers
96 03-Feb-2018 Closure of the Call for Volunteers; Board review of received volunteers
93 06-Feb-2018 Publication and Announcement of Selected Volunteers
91 08-Feb-2018 Election of NomCom Chair
91 08-Feb-2018 Announcement of Elected NomCom Chair


NomCom 2018 Members

The Nomination Committee 2018 will be responsible for proposing and screening candidates for all elections, except for the Board Seat 2 which is handled by the Adhoc Nomcom 2018.

  • Kaleem Ahmed Usmani (Mauritius)
  • Komi Elitcha (Togo)
  • Wale Adedokun (Nigeria), Chairman
  • Haitham El-Nakhal (Board representative, Egypt)


Adhoc Nomcom 2018

This committee has been set up and tasked with finalising the list of candidates for only the Board Seat 2 (Western Africa) election to be held at the AGMM in May 2018 in Dakar, Senegal, following the resignation of Sunday Folayan on the AFRINIC Board.

The following candidates have been appointed to serve on the adhoc NomCom:

  • Mustapha Ben Jemaa (Northern Africa)
  • Douglas Onyango (Eastern Africa)
  • Didier R. Kasole (Central Africa)
  • S. Moonesamy (Board representative, Indian Ocean)




April 5 2018Appointment of ad hoc NomCom for Board seat 2 election in May 2018

April 2 2018Call for Volunteers - Ad hoc NomCom for Board Seat 2

February 15 2018 - Call for Nomination Into AFRINIC Board



NomCom Guidelines (2018)

Adhoc Guidelines (2018)

Previous NomCom Members