Your IP address is

Governance Committee

The AFRINIC Governance Committee was constituted for the first time following an election that took place on 30th November 2016 during the AFRINIC-25 meeting.


The GC’s role is to advise the AFRINIC Board, AFRINIC Membership, and the community, on matters of governance and consists of two (2) members appointed by the Board, three (3) members elected by AFRINIC Membership, one Board member (non-voting) appointed by the Board as a liaison, the AFRINIC legal adviser (non-voting) and one or more members from the Secretariat (non-voting).


At AIS’18 held in Dakar Senegal, the Governance Committee election elected Dr Alioune Badara Traore for a three-year term.


The following individuals were appointed to the Governance committee.


Name Elected/Appointed by Voting Region Country Tenure Duration
Isatou Jah AFRINIC Membership Voting Western Africa The Gambia 3 years January 2017 to December 2019
Wafa Dahmani AFRINIC Membership Voting Northern Africa Tunisia 2 years January 2017 to December 2018
Abdalla Omari AFRINIC Membership Voting Eastern Africa Kenya 3 year January 2018 to December 2020
Mike Silber AFRINIC Board Voting Southern Africa South Africa 2 years January 2017 to December 2018
Zeimm Auladin-Suhootoorah AFRINIC Board Voting Indian Ocean Mauritius 2 year January 2018 to December 2019
Seun Ojedeji AFRINIC Board Non-Voting -   1 year January 2018 to December 2018
Ashok Radhakissoon AFRINIC Board Non-Voting -   - -
Guylaine Laiyra CEO Non-Voting -   - -



Governance Committee

 The AFRINIC Governance Committee, called for by the Community was constituted for the first time during the AFRINIC-25 Meeting. 

According to the Terms of Reference  (ToR), three members will be elected using a process similar to that used for the AFRINIC Board of Director Elections

Governance Committee Election Process