Our Members


AFRINIC provides services to its members namely organisations (mostly Internet Services Providers and End-users) within its geographical region which covers the African continent and Indian Ocean. The AFRINIC service region is divided into six sub-regions namely Northern Africa, Western Africa, Central Africa, Southern Africa, Eastern Africa, and Indian Ocean.


AFRINIC Membership

AFRINIC has three types of membership:

  1. Resource Member: A legal entity or person that meets the requirements for Internet number resources allocations and/or assignment and who signs the Registration Service Agreement. Resource Members are generally Local Internet Registry (LIR) (*) and End-Users (EU) (**)
    • (*) Local Internet Registry (LIR): A Local Internet Registry (LIR) is an Internet Registry (IR) that receives allocations from AFRINIC and primarily sub-allocates or assigns address space to their customers. LIRs are generally ISPs.
    • (**) End User (EU): Any entity, corporate or individual that receive services (Number Resources assignments) directly from AFRINIC for exclusive use on its own service infrastructure.
  2. Associate Member: Any individual person, corporate body of the public sector including governmental, and intergovernmental organisations, non-governmental organisations as well as those of private sector entities who do not use Assigned Number resource under the Registration Service Agreement (RSA) but who have manifested a substantial interest in the number resources management as well as in the mission of AFRINIC to become its member.
  3. Registered Member: Any Director upon assumption of office and who is a member within the meaning of the Companies Act 2001 of Mauritius, as amended from time to time.

The following map gives you an overview of AFRINIC membership distribution